PRDC 2021

The 26th IEEE Pacific Rim International Symposium on Dependable Computing (PRDC 2021):

Virtual conference (local venue for face-to-face: Perth, Australia) 1 - 4 December 2021                  

Call for papers :

  PRDC 2021 is the twenty-sixth event in the series of symposia started in 1989 that are devoted to dependable and fault-tolerant computing. PRDC is recognized as the main event in the Pacific area that covers many dimensions of dependability and fault tolerance, encompassing fundamental theoretical approaches, practical experimental projects, and commercial components and systems. As applications of computing systems have permeated into all aspects of daily life, the dependability of computing systems has become increasingly critical. This symposium provides a forum for countries around the Pacific Rim and other areas of the world to exchange ideas for improving the dependability of computing systems.

  Topics of interest include (but are not limited to):
   ● Software and hardware reliability, testing, verification, and validation
   ● Dependability measurement, modeling, evaluation, and tools
   ● Self-healing, self-protecting, and fault-tolerant systems
   ● Software aging and rejuvenation
   ● Safety-critical and mixed-criticality systems and software
   ● Architecture and system design for dependability
   ● Fault-tolerant algorithms and protocols
   ● Dependability and security in web and mobile applications
   ● Cloud computing resiliency, security and privacy
   ● (Industrial) Internet of things dependability, security and privacy
   ● Dependability issues in computer networks and communications
   ● Dependability issues in high performance computing
   ● Dependability issues in real-time systems
   ● Dependability issues in storage and databases systems
   ● Dependability issues in cyber-physical systems and Industry 4.0
   ● Dependability issues in socio-technical systems
   ● Dependability and security in AI and machine learning systems
   ● 2018 Luxembourg, LU
   ● Blockchain and smart contracts

Submission and Publication Information :

  Manuscripts should be submitted in the following two categories: Regular Papers and Practical Experience Reports. Regular Papers should describe original research (not submitted or published elsewhere) and be not more than 10 pages using IEEE Conference Format Guideline ( Practical Experience Reports (max 6 pages using IEEE format guidelines) should describe an experience or a case study, such as the design and deployment of a system or actual failure and recovery field data.

  All submissions must be made electronically (in PDF format) on the submission website ( Please note that all submissions will undergo a double-blind review. Please ensure that you have removed any references that could lead to identifying the authors of the paper. Failure to do so may result in rejection of the paper regardless of the paper contributions. Papers will be reviewed internationally and selected based on their originality, significance, relevance, and clarity of presentation. All accepted papers will be published by IEEE Computer Society Press (EI Indexed). One outstanding paper will be selected to receive the Best Paper Award, and one outstanding paper first authored by a student will receive the Best Student Paper Award.

Import Dates :

  ● Submission: 18 July 2021
  ● Notification of Acceptance: 22 August 2021

General Chair :

  ● Jin B. Hong, U. of Western Australia, Australia

Program Co-Chairs :

  ● Jin-Hee Cho, Virginia Tech, USA
  ● Marcello Cinque, Federico II U. of Naples, Italy

Local Arrangement Chair :

  ● Naveed Akhtar, U. of Western Australia, Australia
  ● Zeyi Wen, U. of Western Australia, Australia

Publicity Co-Chairs :

  ● Gregory Blanc, Telecom SudParis, France
  ● Simon Yusuf-Enoch, U. of Queensland, Australia

Finance Chair :

  ● Susan Marie, U. of Western Australia, Australia

Steering Committee :

  ● Yennun Huang, Academia Sinica (Chair)
  ● Leon Alkalai, California Institute of Technology
  ● Takashi Nanya, University of Tokyo
  ● Nobuyasu Kanekawa, Hitachi Research Lab
  ● Jin Song Dong, National University of Singapore
  ● Karthik Pattabiraman, University of British Columbia
  ● Gernot Heiser, University of New South Wales
  ● Sy-Yen Kuo, National Taiwan University
  ● Michael Lyu, Chinese University of Hong Kong
  ● Zhi Jin, Peking University
  ● DongSeong Kim, University of Queensland

Sponsors :

  ● IEEE Computer Society


Supporters :

  ● University of Western Australia


  ● Business Events Perth


  ● Tourism Western Australia